European Union asks to member states to Reintroduce Entry Ban for Moroccans

According to the Schengenvisainfo, on the 10 of August. A week after publishing its second review of the list of epidemiologically safe third countries, the EU Council has decided to update the list again, though it had previously noted the list would be updated every two weeks.

On August 7, the EU Council issued a reviewed recommendation to the EU and Schengen Area States, advising them to reintroduce


the entry ban for residents of Morocco, if they had previously abolished the ban.

The Recommendation follows a spike up in the number of Coronavirus cases in Morocco, points out a press release of the EU Council.

“Following a review under the Recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the Council updated the list of countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted. As stipulated in the Council recommendation, this list will continue to be reviewed regularly and, as the case may be, updated, ” the press release reads.

Based on the set criteria and conditions the Council recommends to the Member States to close their borders to Morocco residents since August 8, with the list of epidemiologically safe countries consisting of the following:

1. Austria

2. Canada

3. Georgia

4. Japan

5. New Zealand

6. Rwanda

7. South Korea

8. Thailand

9. Tunisia

10. Uruguay

11. China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity


Previously on July 31, the Council recommended to the Member states to close their borders to residents of Algeria, after previously recommending the removal of Montenegro and Serbia on June 16.

The first list issued by the Council consisted of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China (on the condition of reciprocal action by the Chinese authorities).

Only last week the EU Commission recommended to the Member States to permit unmarried partners of their citizens and residents to enter their territory despite the existing EU-wide entry ban for travellers from third countries.

Currently, only eight EU/Schengen countries have reopened their borders to this category of travellers, which are: Austria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Norway, the Netherlands and Switzerland.